Book talk: Bridgerton: The book series

"I burn for you.”

Unless you don't have Internet service and Netflix, you are probably familiar with the television sensation that has swept the globe, "Bridgerton." The eight-episode Netflix series tells the story of Miss Daphne Bridgerton, a 19th century aristocratic debutant in London who finds herself in intrigue. But did you know that this worldwide phenomenon originated with a nine-book series?

Author Julia Quinn penned the initial eight historical romances between 2000 and 2006, with each detailing a different romantic story for each of the Bridgerton siblings, which you learn early on are named in alphabetical order.

The first Bridgeton novel, "The Duke and I," is set in the regency era and recounts the third London summer social season of Daphne Bridgerton, whose mother is desperately seeking a suitor for her. While she is well educated, kind and witty, Daphne is not desired by eligible gentlemen.

So Daphne concocts a ruse with the Duke of Hastings: They will fake a romance to raise desire for Daphne from other suitors and to deter pestering mothers from pursuing the duke for their daughters.

book cover

The novel holds notable differences to the television series, most notably that the characters are all Anglo-Saxon and there is no reference to any character being of African descent, in contrast to the series that presents Daphne and the Duke of Hastings as an interracial couple.

Other key plot differences include, that in the book, Daphne’s oldest brother Anthony has knowledge of the ruse, the character of Queen Charlotte is not present in the novel, and a controversial intimate scene between Daphne and the duke occurs differently in the television series.

In a time where many remain limited in opportunities to explore regions of the world, the Bridgerton book series provides a safe alternative to travel and allows the reader the chance to take a trip back in time and explore the delights of a Victorian-era London social scene.

"The Duke and I," and the entire Bridgerton series, can be ordered at Next Chapter, formerly Books & Books, in Camana Bay.

This article first appeared in the April 2021 print issue of Camana Bay Times.


About the author

Alanna Warwick-Smith is a senior marketing communications coordinator supporting the business development and real estate marketing team for Dart. Alanna has worked in Dart’s flagship development of Camana Bay for the past nine years, when she began her career working at the town’s bookstore. A lover of the written word, Alanna reads and writes poetry in her spare time, and has written content for a range of platforms in the past, including her own blog and Camana Bay Times. You can find her in line at Foster’s every morning waiting for her large iced coffee with oat milk!

You may also like